SOWN welcomes new president at 2021 AGM


Renee McGlashan was elected unopposed as the president of SOWN at the 2021 Annual General Meeting on Saturday 4 December, replacing John Abbott who had served in the role for 4 years.

Renee congratulated John Abbott saying she hoped to continue his great service to the group.

“SOWN is a positive force for our community. It has so much potential and so much goodwill,” she said.

More than 30 SOWN members attended the AGM to hear reports on the 2020-21 year and elect a new management committee.

Outgoing president John Abbott began the meeting paying tribute to SOWN Founder and Patron Brian Hallinan who died recently.

“Brian was a visionary thinker who realised that the creek has value in its own right and the community can be trusted to look after the creek,” John said.

The newly elected office bearers are:

  • President Renee McGlashan
  • Secretary John Rohde
  • Treasurer Derek Simpson
  • Vice President John Perkins
  • Committee Members John Abbott, Ed Bennett, Mick Bruhwiller, Andrew Galbraith, Chris Galbraith, Di Glynn, Bruce Gray, Peter Hale, Leo Lee, Janet Mangan, Steve Toomey, Dean Wyatt

New SOWN president Renee McGlashan. PHOTO: Anne Jones

Outgoing president John Abbott with John Rohde and John Perkins who received their life membership certificates at the AGM. PHOTO: Anne Jones

SOWN members at the 2021 AGM. PHOTO: Jason Sprott