Plants available, new President and Committee and Mt Coot-tha Zipline


Get out and get planting!

Get planting

The holidays are over and we have had some rain, so it’s time to get out to your bushcare site or backyard and get planting.

The SOWN nursery is bursting with lomandras and other local plants including, fimbriatas and other acacias, eucalyptus tereticornis, syzygiums, and casuarinas.

The nursery is open this Saturday from 9 am to 11 am and plants are available free to members. Please bring or collect your membership card.

New SOWN President and Committee

New SOWN President – John Abbott

At the SOWN AGM in Decembe 2017, a new President and Management Committee were elected. John Abbott, a long-time member of SOWN, has replaced Leo Lee as President.

Other SOWN office bearers and Management Committee members are as follows:
Vice President – John Perkins
Secretary – John Rohde
Treasurer – Derek Simpson
Committee members are: Leo Lee; Mick Bruhwiller; Di Glynn; Kerry Williamson; Peter Hale; Pru Gibbs; Chris Galbraith; Andrew Galbraith; Steve Toomey and Samantha Penman.

You can email John and Committee members at

Community Information Sessions – Proposed Mt Coot-tha Zipline

Graphic of proposed Mt Coot-tha Zipline

Brisbane City Council has awarded a tender for the design, construction and operation of a Mt Coot-tha Zipline. See the SOWN website for a newsletter and more information about the proposal.

Two local community information sessions are being held soon, as follows:

Times: Saturday 3 and 10 February, 9 am -11 am.

Place: Visitor Information Centre, Brisbane Botanic Gardens, Mt Coot-tha.