Home - Save Our Waterways Now

SOWN wins $10,000 National Australia Bank Volunteer Award

SOWN is this year's "Environment and Wildlife" winner for Queensland. This is a $7,000 cash prize. Winning the national award for the category has increased the award by another $3,000 – a total of $10,000.

In awarding the prize, Esther Makris (National Australia Bank) said: "Save Our Waterways Now (SOWN) has a state-of-the-art website containing links to four SOWN TV mini-episodes on bushcare topics.

"It also offers information about the group’s activities, how to get involved, catchment news and gardening and botany tips.

"It is this innovation in volunteer recruitment and best practice management that has helped SOWN win the national and state 2006 NAB Volunteer Award in the Environment and Wildlife category," Esther said.

Recognition a boost

"The recognition will boost SOWN's profile and be sure to increase support for our efforts to restore habitat for wildlife corridors in the Enoggera catchment — to say nothing of the $10,000 in cash which will be used to assist members in their efforts," said Robert Whyte, SOWN Vice-President and web site coordinator.

"This award, and last month's $6,000 Landcare Innovation award will help strengthen the growing awareness that local efforts can make a difference," he said.

"Everyone's now talking about water shortages and climate change, two issues we have been tackling for many years by greening our suburbs, encouraging water saving bushcare and spreading a general environmental awareness in our part of the world.

"There is no doubt people who get involved in SOWN become more environmentally aware in their day-to-day lives, as well as gaining a far greater understanding and appreciation of the natural places all around us, even in the suburbs," Robert said.

"This awareness flows on into the wider community through family, friends, schools, community groups and other networks.

"Gradually we are seeing a shift in mainstream awareness of environmental issues — a shift for the better. This in turn will apply pressure on Governments to provide more incentives for a greener, more sustainable future."

NAB Award
Colleen Farrell, Melinda McLean, Geraldine Knapp, Anne Jones and Robert Whyte being presented with the award Wednesday, 25 October 2006 by Jason from NAB.

For more information