Home - Save Our Waterways Now


Mammals are vertebrate animals characterized by the production of milk in females for the nourishment of young and endothermic or "warm-blooded" bodies. Mammals encompass some 5,500 species (including humans), distributed in about 1,200 genera, 152 families and up to 46 orders. The vast majority of mammals have seven cervical vertebrae (bones in the neck), including bats, giraffes, whales, and humans. They possess a neocortex is a brain region that is unique to mammals.

Pseudocheirus peregrinus Common Ringtail Possum.
A possum about half the size of a cat (between 550 and 1100 g), rusty-brown sides, white belly, white tipped, short-haired tail. Found in... 


Trichosurus vulpecula - Brush-tailed Possum
Widespread in Australia, a major pest in New Zealand About the size of a cat, pointy snout, a pink nose long whiskers, prehensile tail, sharp... 

sugar glider

A marsupial glider about the size of a large , soft grey fur with a black stripe on the head and body. Tail at least thick as a person's thumb,... 

Four species of quoll occur in Australia: the northern, spotted-tailed, eastern and western quolls. Once, most parts of Australia were inhabited by... 

Flying Fox

Grey-Headed Flying Fox (Pteropus poliocephalus)
The grey-headed flying fox (Pteropus poliocephalus) is a fruitbat native to Australia. Grey-headed flying foxes have a maximum wingspan of over 1... 

Northern Brown Bandicoot (Isoodon macrourus)

Northern Brown Bandicoot (Isoodon macrourus)
The Northern Brown Bandicoot (Isoodon macrourus), a marsupial species, is a bandicoot found only on the northern and eastern coasts of Australia and... 


Koalas Phascolarctos cinereus are sometimes spotted in Enoggera catchment in areas adjoining Mount Coot-tha Reserve. The Reserve contains... 


Echidnas, sometimes known as spiny anteaters, belong to the family Tachyglossidae in the monotreme order of egg-laying mammals. The four extant...